Congratulations to the 2023 Missouri National Distinguished Principal, Dr. Steve Waigand!

Dr. Steve Waigand, the Principal of Rock Port Elementary School, has been selected as Missouri’s National Distinguished Principal of 2023. He was chosen from a very talented and experienced field of Missouri Distinguished Principals, representing the eleven regions of the Missouri Association of Elementary School Principals.

Dr. Waigand has been the Principal of Rock Port Elementary School since 2016, and during his tenure, the school has earned numerous accolades, including Missouri Gold Star School and National Blue Ribbon School honors for academic excellence. This year, the Rock Port R-II School District was recognized as Rural School District of the Year by the Missouri Association of Rural Education (MARE).

Dr. Waigand's leadership, dedication to education, and commitment to the students, staff, and community of Rock Port Elementary School have been instrumental in helping students achieve academic excellence and personal growth. His passion for creating a positive learning environment is reflected in the school's vision statement, "Love all our passengers, Serve their academic needs, and Care for the whole child".

In addition to his work at Rock Port Elementary School, Dr. Waigand has been an active member and mentor of the Missouri Leadership Development System, which support the growth school leaders.

"We are thrilled to congratulate Dr. Waigand on being named the National Missouri Distinguished Principal of 2023," said Superintendent Ethan Sickels of Rock Port School District. "His leadership and dedication have been invaluable to our school and district, and we are proud to have him as our Principal."

The National Distinguished Principals program honors elementary and middle-level principals who have made outstanding contributions to their schools and communities. The program recognizes excellence in school leadership and highlights the fundamental importance of the principalship in achieving student success.

Dr. Waigand will be formally recognized at the National Distinguished Principals Awards Banquet in Washington, DC in October 2023. Congratulations to Dr. Waigand on this well-deserved recognition!

For more information, contact Dr. J Anderson, Executive Director, Missouri Association of Elementary Principals (MAESP) headquartered in Jefferson City, Missouri.

Missouri Association of Elementary School Principals
3550 Amazonas Drive
Jefferson City, MO  65109

Phone: 573-638-2460
Fax:  573-556-6270

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software